AAUA Alumni President Receives Int’l Distinguished Award

The National President of Adekunle Ajasin University Alumni Association, Mr. Patrick Oluyide, has been honoured with The Distinguished Toastmaster (DTM) Award by Toastmasters International, a global leadership club.
Founded in 1924 in Santa Ana, California, by Ralph C. Smedley, Toastmasters International, a leading educational club worldwide, is a non-profit, non-political, non-religious club that provides a mutually-supportive environment for its members to develop their skills, with special focus on leadership and communication skills. The club, which has about 313,000 members in 14,650 clubs in 126 countries, offers a proven and enjoyable way to practise and hone communication and leadership skills.
The prestigious award, which certifies the awardee as a trained and tested veteran in leadership and communication, had recently been presented to him (Oluyide) at the African Toastmasters Conference in Abidjan, Cote d’voire, and was, penultimate week, re-presented by the new President of Seaside Toastmasters Club, Ms. Linda Nwezeh, at the Eko Hotel, Lagos State.
Oluyide got the DTM award, which is the peak of the Toastmasters’ educational journey, having clinched other awards of the club, including Competent Communicator Award (CC), Advanced Communicator Bronze Award (ACB), Advanced Communicator Silver Award (ACS), and Advanced Communicator Gold Award (ACG), Competent Leader Award (CL), Advanced Leader Bronze (ALB), Advanced Leader Silver (ALS) and Leadership Excellence Award.
In his Acceptance Remark, Oluyide expressed gratitude to God for sustaining him and appreciated his family, Seaside Toastmasters club, friends and associates for their unflinching support over the years.
Oluyide, the first from Ondo State to receive the award, said the award was a testimonial to his commitment to self-development, adding, “DTM is the end of the beginning. Personal development is a life-long journey.”
He advised the youth to place much premium on honing their skills.
Oluyide joined Toastmasters in 2012. He became the President of Seaside Toastmasters Club, Lagos, in 2013, and was Area Director, Area 18 - comprising of a number of clubs, in 2014. He rose to the position of Division Director, covering the Southern part of Nigeria in 2015.
A business consultant of international repute, and Managing Director, Patsway Consulting, Oluyide is an alumnus of the National Institute for Policy and Strategic Studies, NIPSS, Kuru, and a member of the Governing Council of AAUA.
He is also on the Faculty of Great Place to Work, Nigeria, and the Enterprise Development Centre of the Pan Atlantic University, Lagos, LBS.

... Ibadan Branch Elects Officers

The Ibadan Branch of Adekunle Ajasin University Alumni Association has been inaugurated.
The Inauguration Ceremony, which had 40 members in attendance, was held at the Tantalizers Eatery, Student’s Union Building, University of Ibadan, Ibadan, Oyo State.
While performing the inauguration, the National President of the Association, Mr. Patrick Oluyide, said the birth of the branch was in tandem with the Association’s Constitution which allows institution of chapters in towns and cities across the globe without compromising the conditions for branch formation, including a minimum membership of 20.
While presenting the Charter of the Association to the branch, Mr. Oluyide urged the new executive members of the chapter to pilot the affairs of the association in line with the constitution.
Mr. Oluyide said he was enthused by the zeal of members and the manner in which they have been conducting themselves, advising them not to rest on their oars, especially in the area of thorough membership drive.
He said, “I am so impressed by your conduct. The quality of your discussions is very heartwarming. You have started on a very good note. Please, continue on this enthusiastic and encouraging path of yours.”
The Chairman of the branch, Mr. Oyekunle Adetoba, in his address, thanked God for allowing the inauguration to see the light of day.
Appreciating all members of the branch for their cooperation, Adetoba promised to justify the confidence reposed in him to lead them by making the association proud.
He said, “We want to assure you that we shall leave no stone unturned in ensuring that this branch continues to grow in strength and number.”
Other executive members are Yetunde Ijitola (Vice Chairman), Omobayode Okelola (Secretary), Mercy Dada (Treasurer), Seun Ajagun (Financial Secretary) and Kehinde Adebayo (Events and Publicity Officer).
Ibadan Branch is an addition to the existing Akungba, Owo, Akure, Lagos and Abuja Branches.

Appointment of Auditor

Reputable and qualified auditors WHO ARE AAUA ALUMNI are to send their applications to the National General Secretary, Mr. Sunday Ogunode (07033388005)